Events SPF Annual Conference 2022

SPF Annual Conference 2022


Morrison Street

Date & Time:
31 May 2022
10:00 - 19:00

Event Type:

Flagship Event

Prices per person for:

SPF Members £50.00
BPF Futures Members £50.00
Non-Member £65.00

This event is open to Members and Non-Members.

Share this event linkedIn icon twitter icon email icon

Event Details

The new SPF Conference!

We're back with our first major in-person event since 2020. Under an overall theme of 'Invest in Opportunity', we will bring delegates together with other industry leaders, senior government officials and key stakeholders to debate and discuss the major topics of the day. See the tab above for details on confirmed keynote speakers and panellists.


The conference will also provide excellent networking opportunities, including an evening drinks reception. However, if you can't attend in person, an online-only option is available.  Our Annual Conference considers the key issues for the property industry in 2022 and beyond.

Along with our sponsors Pinsent Masons LLP and Robertson Group, we are delighted to offer a stellar list of panellists and keynote speakers. The event begins with an introduction from Minister for Business, Trade, Tourism and Enterprise, Ivan McKee MSP.


After opening speeches, we focus on the key issues facing the industry, and we are pleased to say we will be joined by Minister for Zero Carbon Buildings, Active Travel and Tenants’ Rights, Patrick Harvie MSP

Conference Partners


For many SPF members some of their most important stakeholders are the local authorities whose areas they work in. For our new style annual conference Invest in Opportunity, we are delighted to welcome the following Councils as official Partners of this year’s event:



Programme 31 May 2022
Edinburgh International Conference Centre 


10.45am: Keynote Speeches: Introduced by Ivan McKee MSP, Minister for Business, Trade, Tourism & Enterprise
11.45am: Panel 1: Urban renewal and the experience economy
12.30pm: Lunch kindly sponsored by Robertson Group

2pm: Panel 2: New homes for life and learning
2.45pm: Break & networking
3.15pm: Panel 3: Achieving a just transition to zero carbon buildings
4pm: Panel 4: Planning for business and communities
5pm-7pm: Reception kindly sponsored by Pinsent Masons LLP


Prices start from:


Online-only: £50 SPF/BPF members, £50 BPF Futures members, £65 non-members (excluding VAT)

General admission: £100 SPF/BPF members, £50 BPF Futures members, £130 non-members (excluding VAT)


Companies & organisations that have already confirmed their attendance:

Addleshaw Goddard, AMA (Newtown) Ltd, Aviva Investors, Barclays, British Property Federation, Brodies, Buccleuch Property, Burness Paull LLP, CBRE, Chris Stewart Group, CuthbertWhite, Clyde Gateway Developments, Colliers International, Cooper Cromar, Cruden Investments Limited, Cushman & Wakefield, Dentons UK and Middle East LLP, DLA Piper, Dowbrae Real Estate, DSSR, Dundee City Council, Ediston, Europa Capital LLP, Federated Hermes, Fife Council, Glasgow City Council, Graham + Sibbald, Gunn Property Consultants, Heads of Planning Scotland (HOPS), Henderson Warnock, HFD Group, Hollis Global, HSBC, Investec Bank Plc, J Smart & Co, JLL, JLT, JM Architects, Keppie Design, KR Developments, Lichfields, Lindsays, MacRoberts, MF Planning, Montagu Evans LLP, Murchison Construction Consultants Ltd, NavigatorCRE, Peel Holdings, Pinsent Masons LLP, PMP, Robertson Group, Ross Developments & Renewables, Scape Scotland, Rettie & Co, RBS, Richard Slipper Planning Consultancy, RSM UK, RTPI, Ryden, Savills, Scarlett Land and Development, Scottish Cities Alliance, Scottish Futures Trust, Scottish Government, Shepherd and Wedderburn, Shoosmiths LLP, TFT, Taylor Wimpey Plc, Therme Group UK, Thomas & Adamson, Turley, Unipol, University of Strathclyde, Virgin Media, Winchburgh Developments Ltd


Gavin Brown

Director, Speak with Impact

Keynote Speakers

Ivan McKee MSP

The Minister for Business, Trade, Tourism and Enterprise

Melanie Leech CBE

Chief Executive, British Property Federation

Ron Coghill

Capital Projects Lead, Barclays

Kevin Robertson

SPF Chair & MD KR Developments

Panel Sessions

Panel: Urban Renewal & the Experience Economy

  • Stephen Lewis, HFD Property Group (Chair)
    • Managing Director & SPF Vice Chair
  • Anne-Marie Garner, Therme Group
    • Vice President of Corporate Strategy
  • Chris Stewart, Chris Stewart Group
    • Chief Executive Officer
  • Cllr John Alexander, Scottish Cities Alliance
    • Leader of Dundee City Council
  • Claire Brook, Scottish Government
    • Head of Capital Investment

Panel: A Just Transition to Zero Carbon Buildings

  • Emily Brodie, TFT (Chair)
    • Building Surveyor & BPF Futures Vice Chair
  • Patrick Harvie MSP, Scottish Government
    • Minister for Zero Carbon Buildings
  • Lynn Smith, Europa Capital
    • Managing Director of Sustainability & Development
  • Nidhi Baiswar, JLL
    • Sustainability and Climate Leadership Director
  • Peter Reekie, Scottish Futures Trust
    • Chief Executive Officer

Panel: Planning for Business & Communities

  • Maria Francké, MF Planning (Chair)
    • Director
  • Craig McLaren, RTPI Scotland
    • Director
  • Pam Ewen, Heads of Planning Scotland
    • Head of Planning, Fife Council
  • David Peck, Buccleuch Property
    • Managing Director

Panel: New Homes for Life & Learning

  • Robin Blacklock, Dowbrae Real Estate
    • Managing Director
  • Sarah Jones, Cushman & Wakefield
    • Partner
  • Kevin Robertson, KR Developments
    • Managing Director & SPF Chair
  • Stuart Heslop, RBS
    • Head of UK Housing Finance and Real Estate Finance for Scotland and North of England